top of page
  • Writer's picture CollectiveMCR

Worlds Smallest Canvas at Your Fingertips.

We take a lot of pride in how we look, whether it be hair, face, skin or even down to our finger nails. Manicures, pedicure, acrylic nails, there is such a selection in what can be done to the little beds at our fingertips. However, one popular treatment for them is gel nails, similar to painting your nails, however the polish lasts for weeks and depending on your technician, you can have different art on your nails.


It has never been easier to be qualified in gel nails. An opportunity that new nail technician Bronte, decided to take. CollectiveMCR caught up with Bronte to see how she feels about this form of art.


What made you get into doing nails?

The industry just seemed super easy to get into, I just wanted to make a bit of money on the side but id always loved getting my nails done so i thought that i would just go and do a course so i could go and do it myself. The course was three hours which told you the basics, you get to practice on each other and you're qualified!


How did you find it getting custom?

Quite easy actually, a lot of my friends were interested at first and just go to me because i'm starting out and they want to help me. Instagram is a big help as well, you find that MUA's [Make-Up Artists] and other beauty techs have their own Instagram as that's probably where the most business is. You just hashtag, share and post a lot and the custom starts coming in.


What sort of nail art do you enjoy most about creating?

I'm still a beginner at the minute, but i love doing animal print, i think its so funky! My favourite ones that i have done are a nude base with daisy's painted on with gold cuff

detailing, i think that's just so pretty!





What is your favourite thing about doing gel nails?

I love how i am my own business owner and my own boss, i can arrange my clients how i like and work it to suit me. My fiance was a huge help renovating our spare room into a nail room so i can have clients come to my house. I love working in my home as well as for now, the work is just weekend and evening after my day job, so it means i can still be in my home environment in between customers.


Do you think nail art is a legitimate art?

Definitely! Art doesn't have to be just paintings on a wall. Art can be interpreted in any way. I create art on peoples finger tips and it definitely takes a skill. I'm only a beginner, but some more experienced techs definitely can create masterpieces on nails, and with such a small canvas to work with, it's definitely very difficult.



After chatting with Bronte, it is easy to see why those in this industry find it so free, liberating and fun! The ability to be your own boss and create fun art for people on their bodies really is the most rewarding thing about the whole experience.



Checkout Bronte's Instagram: @_bybronte_


Written by:

Morgan Lockwood

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Kommentare


Blog: Blog2
bottom of page