top of page
  • Writer's picture CollectiveMCR

Tuckshop - Small art... Big aspirations.

Art is incredibly important but for so many different reasons, and those reasons will be different to each person individually"

Lynn Allingham, Model maker at Tuckshop

Collective MCR recently had the opportunity to interview Lynn Allingham, a model maker who has had success in film and Television as a prop maker, as an author releasing two books in model design, and more recently, creating unconventional miniature models which can be purchased on her online store, Tuckshop. We spoke with Lynn about her experiences, her passion for model making and the uniqueness of her designs.


Sushi models... look so good you could eat them

In short, can you tell us a little about how you create art? What materials you use, how much time is involved, what is the creative process?

When I am working on miniature models the main material I use is polymer clay (Fimo), this clay comes in all different shades and colours and is oven hardening. I have worked in fimo for many years and find it to be really versatile, it can be shaped, coloured, mixed and adapted in so many different ways.


When I am working as a props maker I use a really broad range of materials such as, paper, cardboard, tape, fabric, paint, old packaging or anything to hand really, the nature of props making is to think on your feet and make with materials that are to hand.


When did you start practicing your chosen medium?  How long for?

I Started miniature model making 10 years ago and gradually progressed into working on editorial features and more recently have moved into publishing writing 2 of my own books Making Mini Foodand Mini Menageriewhich feature step by step projects on how to make miniatures.


I have recently combined all my creative skills to become a freelance props maker and I work with the BBC in children’s television and I occasionally work in Animation too. Becoming a props maker is an ambition I have had for many years so being able to actually realise it is so exciting and I can’t wait to see how this part of my career will develop.

What or who inspired you to start your specific medium?  Is there a story or reason you started practicing your specific medium?

It is a bit of a sad story to be honest, 10 years ago my sister Steff was diagnosed with cancer, one day she handed me a big bag full of fimo clay and said “there you go, see what you can do with that”. We were always making and drawing as kids, so I started playing around with the clay and eventually found a passion for making tiny things, as I got better at it I decided to open my own Etsy shop (Tuckshop) and to my utter surprise people started buying my work! Steff passed away shorty after this and it is for her (and realisation that life is extremely short) that has given me the drive and determination to keep pursuing what I love.


Have you any highlights or achievements?

I have always had a life long ambition to write a book so to have written 2 is probably my biggest achievement and also my hardest one (I cant believe it even happened and I’m extremely thankful). The process of planning, making, photographing and writing step by step projects for a published book is extremely time consuming and exhausting but all the hard work is definitely worth it once you get to hold the finished piece in your hands.


Lynn's fabulous books - available now

Do you practice for leisure or commission?

I used to make all my miniatures for fun in-between working in retail, but over the years I have gradually built up my editorial work and have recently been able to go freelance to further my career as a props and model maker with the ambition to progress further into television and animation


Who is your art intended for?

I really hope that my art can be enjoyed by absolutely anyone and I always love hearing from all kinds of people on my social media.


What makes your art unique, stand out from others?

My miniature work seems to be what stands out the most, I generally find that people are just intrigued by something small and want to know how I made it and so I try to share as much of that as I can in the hope that it will inspire others to have a go and have some fun.


Check out this slide show of Lynn's amazing creations!


In your opinion, why is art important?

I don’t even know where to start with that question, art is incredibly important but for so many different reasons and those reasons will be different to each person individually. For me it gives me a sense of purpose, its something I have to do not just want to do, it helps my mental health and self esteem, its just great, so go make some!


 

If you have enjoyed learning about Lynn's miniature models, please visit her website, shop and various social media outlets for more of her fantastic art work.

www.Lynnallingham.co.uk

Instagram; @Tuck_Shop

Patreon; www.patreon.com/LynnTuckshop


Find Lynn's books at; www.thegmcgroup.com


Written by Michael Timoney

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


Blog: Blog2
bottom of page