top of page

The Age of Animation

Art causes you to think, when spectating a piece of art different feelings and emotions manifest allowing the art to be interpreted in so many ways, there is no right or wrong answer, it’s just art.

- George Hampshire, Animator

CollectiveMCR had the opportunity to interview an up and coming artist George Hampshire. George is a postgraduate student attempting to establish himself through his complex animations and intricate narratives. His dynamic style, contemporary storylines and vivid colours give his animations a fresh and new identity, separating his art with its distinct style.


What is your chosen art medium ?

At this moment whilst studying my art medium is 2D animation. This is achieved by controlling images to move in certain ways to give the illusion that they’re moving. Before that all I would need was a pen and a piece of paper. I used to love drawing especially with pens as when I finished the drawing always had a pleasant and professional look about it.


When did you start practicing it / for how long have you been practising it?

I began practising animation itself for nearly two and a half years ago, but I’ve been drawing for as long as I can remember. I’ve been drawing cartons all my life and found that throughout school my drawings have always impressed peers and teachers, which has ultimately led me down this career path.


Can you remember the first piece of art you created? Why do you practice art ?

Unfortunately not. I’ve been drawing since I was very young, probably some school work that’s been thrown away. I should have really kept a hold of it.


I practise art because I enjoy it. I liked to think that one day this skill of mine can be used to make a living. I think that would be the ultimate dream for most artists, being able to produce art that can provide me with financial security - something a lot of artists can only dream of.


What is your favourite piece you have created?

Currently my favourite piece is my thesis that is being made for my final project. It’s the first time I’ve been left to my own devices with the freedom to make an animation of my choice. It’s called ‘The Squid’ and it will be quite something once its finished.


What has been your most challenging piece and why?

Again that would have to be my thesis film, it’s my first proper attempt at making a professional short film. The process is challenging as there are loads of different factors to take in to account which include: the pre-production, the animating, sound and lighting and the editing. As this is a solo task it requires a lot of work and dedication. It’ll be nearly a year in the making once its finished, which is far bigger than anything I’ve done before.

Fruit Ninja Samurai...

Do you practise for leisure or commission? Who is your art intended for?

I’ve practised for both in the past , but while I’ve been at university it’s all been for the course. Whilst being at university I have had the opportunity to make a few animations for song artists, the art I create for them gets used as the visual elements to their songs.


My art is designed for anyone but especially for those who love shows like Rick and Morty, I believe it’s the perfect recipe, combining adult humour with cartoon images. The success of the show has inspired my work, I take elements and concepts when necessary to try develop my graft.


What or who inspired you to start your specific medium?

I get a lot of inspiration from artists like Matt Groening the creator of The Simpsons, Matt Stone and Terry Parker the creators of South Park, Dan Harmon and Justin Roiland creators of Rick and Morty. Basically I find inspiration from all the big names that use animation and have become mega-successful from it, except for Seth Macfarlane, the creator of Family Guy. I also find inspiration from musicians and film producers like Ricky Gervais, Wes Anderson and Mike Skinner in his day, these artists express themselves through different modes of art, which I find really fascinating.


What do you get out of art? What do you get out of practising art?

From practising art, I believe it causes you to think, when spectating a piece of art different feelings and emotions manifest allowing the art to be interpreted in so many ways, there is no right or wrong answer, it’s just art. Art allows a glimpse into someone’s mind offering the chance to view life from their perspective. I also see art as a source of entertainment, I think I speak for most art enthusiasts who would say that it provides joy and excitement to their day

I get loads from art, the first thing is the major satisfaction that comes from finishing a piece. Secondly art is happiness for me, whether its viewing it or making it I find pleasure from being around it. Finally there is the possibility of occasionally making money from it which is always a bonus.


Why in your opinion is art important ?

I believe art is important because it’s a source of expressionism. Art can be found in the most unlikely of places, connecting people through visual elements to create unique feelings.

 

Thanks for reading, for more information check out George's instagram below. If you liked the article and want to read more, return the blog menu


Instagram: @Friday_slaburn



Written by: Nayan Chavda

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


Blog: Blog2
bottom of page